884x532 Blog Queens Awards 2021

The 2022 Queen’s Awards for Enterprise winners have been announced!

On the occasion of Her Majesty The Queen's 96th Birthday, 232 outstanding UK businesses have been given the royal stamp of approval and received the world's most prestigious business award.

Many congratulations to all the winners across the four categories:

  • 141 International Trade winners
  • 51 Innovation winners
  • 9 Promoting Opportunity (through social mobility) winners
  • 31 Sustainable Development winners
QAE workshop graphic 1024x410 1

This year's winners include West Sussex-based World of Books, who were awarded both the Queen's Award for International Trade and Sustainable Development. An online book retailer with customers in 175 countries, they sell 12 million used books each year. What's more, they support 4,400 UK charity shops through the purchase of surplus stock, as well as recycling books and other media that cannot be reused.

4 Mental Health – an organisation in Conwy that provides mental health training courses and free self-help resources – was awarded a Queen's Award for International Trade, after seeing overseas training increase considerably from 2018 to 2021, to a point where it now represents nearly half of all their activity.

Pearson Engineering also saw a huge rise in overseas activity between the same three-year period – especially in the USA, Canada and South Korea. As a provider of equipment to the Armed Forces, their work ensures that armoured vehicles can become more capable when on the battlefield.

A social enterprise that delivers workshops to teach sustainable reuse and repair skills was recognised for the work they've done in reducing pollution and emissions. The Edinburgh Remakery received the Queen's Award for Enterprise in Sustainable Development.

The Queen’s Awards are designed to recognise only the most exceptional businesses in the UK. Every winner will have met the robust criteria and proved their worth. This is a remarkable achievement at any time – but especially in these challenging times – and it is fantastic to be able to celebrate British business strength and resilience.

Winners are permitted to fly The Queen's Awards flag at their main office and use the emblem on their marketing materials. They are also given a Grant of Appointment (an official certificate) and a commemorative crystal trophy. Awards are valid for a five-year period.


Winners represent every region of the UK, and the numbers are relative to the entrants. Every year, there are calls for more businesses outside of London and the South East to enter. Where would you fit into this list of the 12 different regions?

  • 37 winners from London
    3 Innovation, 26 International Trade, 2 Promoting Opportunity, 6 Sustainable Development
  • 30 winners from the South East
    5 Innovation, 16 International Trade, 3 Promoting Opportunity, 6 Sustainable Development
  • 25 winners from the West Midlands
    7 Innovation, 14 International Trade, 2 Promoting Opportunity, 2 Sustainable Development
  • 23 winners from East of England
    7 Innovation, 12 International Trade, 1 Promoting Opportunity, 3 Sustainable Development
  • 23 winners from Yorkshire & The Humber
    6 Innovation, 16 International Trade, 1 Sustainable Development
  • 22 winners from the East Midlands
    7 Innovation, 13 International Trade, 2 Sustainable Development
  • 21 winners from the South West
    6 Innovation, 11 International Trade, 4 Sustainable Development
  • 19 winners from the North West
    5 Innovation, 11 International Trade, 1 Promoting Opportunity, 2 Sustainable Development
  • 14 winners from Scotland
    2 Innovation, 8 International Trade, 4 Sustainable Development
  • 9 winners from the North East
    2 Innovation, 6 International Trade, 1 Sustainable Development
  • 5 winners from Wales
    1 Innovation, 4 International Trade
  • 3 winners from Northern Ireland
    3 International Trade


Over recent years, we have supported a number of clients to win a Queen’s Award – as shown in our case studies.


If you've been growing year-on-year and business has been going well, this could be your time to gain a valuable award to support your business to grow in 2022. It's important to remember that the awards look BACK at past performance to confirm your achievements.

To find out how your business can join the elite list of winners, contact us now.

The 2023 entry programme will open on Sunday 1st May 2022 and the deadline in September 2022.


We have organised a FREE workshop dedicated to the Queen's Awards for Enterprise, so you receive plenty of useful and insightful pointers about what it takes to land the world's most prestigious business award.

Places are limited, so it's best to sign up now to avoid disappointment.

This exclusive online session will take place on Wednesday 15th June at 11.00am.

Click here to secure your place.

Share via

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *