King's Honours

The most prestigious award an individual from the UK can achieve is a national honour from The King!

How do you get an OBE, MBE, CBE or Knighthood?

The honours' system rewards British people for their outstanding achievements, those who have shown great commitment to serving and supporting Britain, and those who have demonstrated exceptional service to their industries, communities, and professional disciplines.

If someone you know has made life better for others, inspired and innovated peers, or excels at what they do, they could be eligible for a King’s honour.

Anyone can be nominated for an honour, and the Cabinet Office explains that it can take between 12–18 months or longer to achieve a result.

National honours nominations are rigorously checked by an Honours Committee to decide who shall receive the prestigious awards in either The King’s Birthday Honours List in June or in the New Year Honours List. In total, there are around 2,200 awards given out every year!

Types of National Honours

There are several types of Honours you can receive. These are:

  • Dame or Knighthood
  • Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE)
  • Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE)
  • Member of the Order of the British Empire (MBE)
  • British Empire Medal (BEM)

Each honour is awarded depending on the achievements you have detailed in your nomination, you do not specifically choose which level you would like to nominate your candidate for – that is the privilege of the experienced Honours Committee.

What receiving an Honour from The King could do for you

Receiving an honour is such a huge achievement and a true legacy for you and your family.

When you receive an honour, you are invited to Buckingham Palace and presented with your medal by The King or a member of the Royal family. Your name and achievements are published in major national and international publications and if you are awarded a Damehood or Knighthood you receive the title ‘Sir’ or ‘Dame’, for other honours you have the letters of the award added to your name.

What a remarkable platform for sharing your loved one, friend or colleague's story with others and motivating more people to look after their communities or give back to their profession with an inspirational commitment.